can do logo

facebook twitter linkedin youtube

One S. Church Street, Suite 200, Hazleton, PA 18201      
570.455.1508   570.454.7787    


CAN DO, Inc., Greater Hazleton’s economic development organization, marked another year during its 53rd annual dinner meeting June 16 at Best Western Genetti Inn & Suites, Hazleton.

The 2009-2010 officers of CAN DO, Greater Hazleton’s economic development agency, are, from left, front: Lonnie Polli, secretary; Kevin O’Donnell, president; John J. Spevak, chairman of the board; and William Genetti, vice chairman of facilities management. Back: Robert Judd, treasurer; Llewellyn F. Dryfoos III, vice chairman of internal operations; and David McCarthy, vice chairman of sales and marketing.Before the dinner, the organization’s board of directors met to discuss the highlights of the last fiscal year and to elect officers and at-large board members.

CAN DO officers for 2009-10 are: Chairman Emeritus Edgar L. Dessen, M.D.; Chairman of the Board John J. Spevak; President Kevin O’Donnell; Vice Chairman of Internal Operations Llewellyn F. Dryfoos III; Vice Chairman of Sales and Marketing David McCarthy; Vice Chairman of Facilities Management William Genetti; Treasurer Robert Judd; Secretary Lonnie Polli; and Assistant Secretaries Nancy R. Stasko, Patricia Gendler, CPA, and Bernadette J. DeBias.

Arthur A. Tarone, Daniel Jorgensen, and Gary Danish were elected as at-large members of the executive committee.

Those elected to the CAN DO board of directors as at-large members were: George Andrews; Amilcar Arroyo; Charles Burkhardt; Tim Cole; Anthony J. Dixon, Esq.; Brian Earley; James Edwards; Peter J. Fagan, Esq.; Eugene F. Gallagher; William Genetti; Frank George; George F. Hayden; Martha Herron; Daniel Jorgensen; Robert Judd; John Madden, Ph.D.; Paul Malone; David McCarthy; Rick Morelli; Kevin O’Donnell; Jerry Panisak; Jan Pasdon; Lonnie Polli; Alexander Sloot; John J. Spevak; Arthur A. Tarone; Matt Turowski, Esq.; Pat Ward; and Joseph Zeller.

CAN DO’s Board of Directors also consists of members of organizations who have been involved with CAN DO since its very beginning. Educational and municipal representatives, along with students, also serve on the board. The board is made up of nearly 100 volunteers.

The annual dinner meeting marked the end of the three-year term of CAN DO Board Chairman E. Thomas Sandrock.

“This past year was extremely challenging for CAN DO and for the board of directors,” Sandrock said. “The national economic slowdown affected CAN DO, so we took a good, long look at our internal operations and external marketing efforts. This sharp focus allowed us to streamline our operations, develop a new long-term strategy, and prepare for the future.

“We also made substantial improvements to our infrastructure, particularly at Humboldt Industrial Park,” Sandrock continued. “We upgraded rail service to key areas of the park. We upgraded our wastewater treatment facility. We paved roads and subdivided large sections of Humboldt Northwest. Simply put, we are ready for the economic turnaround – with expanded services and new land options.”

CAN DO President Kevin O’Donnell noted the companies that began operations during the past fiscal year have created an estimated 1,500 jobs in Greater Hazleton.

During the last year, several global companies began operations in CAN DO parks, including candymaker Tootsie Roll Industries, online retailer, AutoZone, and United States Cold Storage.

In Humboldt Station, Residence Inn by Marriott opened a 92-room hotel – convenient to those traveling Interstate 81 and those doing business in the Humboldt parks – and began welcoming guests last summer. Turkey Hill also opened a gas station and convenience store at the end of the summer.

Other projects completed in the last fiscal year include the completion of a major upgrade to CAN DO’s wastewater treatment plant; reclamation of mine-scarred land at Cranberry Creek along Route 924; infrastructure improvement work for Humboldt Northwest, 372 acres of reclaimed minelands; and the continued success of the CAN BE business incubator program, which assists local entrepreneurs in starting new companies.

During dinner, which followed the business meeting and a cocktail hour, guests saw a video reviewing CAN DO’s many projects throughout its industrial parks and corporate center during the fiscal year.

Following the video, Sandrock and Charles Burkhardt, Community Relations Committee chairman and Student Action Committee advisor, recognized the graduating students of the CAN DO Student Action Committee, which is involved in developing and planning events such as CAN DO Community Christmas and “Operation: CAN DO.”

Gary Lamont, president of the CAN DO Community Foundation, honored the students who completed the Edgar L. Dessen Community Service Award program. Designated as Dessen Scholar Graduates, the students were awarded certificates acknowledging their completion of the program.

The awards are granted to community-minded area high school students entering their junior year. Recipients are awarded a scholarship to the Junior Leadership of Hazleton program under the direction of Pat Korb through the community foundation.

This year’s Dessen Scholar Graduates are Nicole Caccese, Weatherly Area High School, daughter of Bob and Colleen Caccese, Weatherly; Sarah Careyva, MMI Preparatory School, daughter of Edward and Jill Careyva, Ringtown; Allison Diehl, daughter of Gerald and Suzanne Diehl, Hazle Township; Sarah Murray, Immanuel Christian School, daughter of John and Kathleen Murray, Hazleton; and Theresa Patten, Marian Catholic High School, daughter of Donald and Mary Patten, Sugarloaf.

Lamont then presented the Edgar L. Dessen Community Service Awards for the students who will be funded to attend Junior Leadership during the 2009-10 school year. This year’s award recipients are: Thomas Anthony Delahanty (HAHS), son of Karla and Tom Delahanty, Drums; Laura Rose Vinatieri (ICS), daughter of Ted and Genean Vinatieri, Hazleton; Christine Carmela Valente (MCHS), daughter of Lucy and Anthony Valente, Hazleton; Megan Maryanna Beggs (MMI), daughter of Rebecca Davis, White Haven; and Susan Darlene Funk (WAHS), Brian and Ellen Busher, guardians, Weatherly.

Dinner sponsors were: TRAC: The Railroad Associates Corp.; Mericle Commercial Real Estate Services; Rosenn, Jenkins & Greenwald, LLP; Sordoni Construction Services, Inc.; Slusser Brothers; Borton Lawson; Northeast Pennsylvania Manufacturers and Employers Association; Pennoni Associates, Inc.; Environmental Engineering & Management Associates, Inc.; and PPL Corp.